“The Scanning Project”: YES!!

Tagged: ,

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Topic: “The Scanning Project”: YES!! Read 1176 Times
  • Michael Sebastian
    Michael Sebastian
    Participant
    New Article Announcements & Discussions
    on: October 8, 2019 at 6:49 pm

I’d love to have this series. I’m in a similar boat, with four decades of film to scan.

Alan Klein
    Alan Klein
    Participant
    Re: “The Scanning Project”: YES!!
    Reply #1 on: October 8, 2019 at 7:33 pm

I started scanning when I started shooting film again a few years ago.  Then when I moved 6 years ago, I scanned my old 35mm slides after selecting the ones that mattered.  I use an Epson V600.  I created electronic slide shows on DVD’s and memory cards using a video post processing program, PS Premiere Elements,  with music, captions, titles, and credits.  I show these on my UHDTV which displays very well or on computer monitors. Some I’ve posted on Youtube so I can take the slide show with me or let people just dial it up.  I do create these slide shows with digital photos as well.  My old 35mm projector is broken, so this process seems to work for me.  Scanning is a learning process, if you don;t blow your brains out first before getting the knack.  It can get frustrating.  The scuba diving video on Youtube is an example of Ektachrome which have held up pretty good in the 35 years.  I think the whites are clipped as I used auto in the scanner originally.  These tend to clip in auto so I have since switched to scanning flat.  Good luck and feel free to ask any questions.  I hope to learn here as well as it is a difficult process.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDzogShfhgCHh2rVvEsFOJQ

https://www.flickr.com/photos/alanklein2000/albums

• This reply was modified 4 years, 10 months ago by Alan Klein.
    Mark D Segal
    Mark D Segal
    Silver Member
    Reply #2 on: October 8, 2019 at 7:49 pm

Hello George,