Should I Buy Luminar AI

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Topic: Should I Buy Luminar AI Read 999 Times
  • Greg Scott
    Greg Scott
    Participant
    New Article Announcements & Discussions
    on: February 16, 2021 at 7:55 pm

A very thoughtful well written article about artificial intelligence in image editing.  I do share many of Mr. Rubner’s thoughts and preferences as I understand them.  I am an enthusiastic amateur using photography as a creative outlet.  It is worth noting that the article does not attempt to directly answer the initial question.

I did pre-order Luminar AI and I use a number of other tools based on AI.  I have been an enthusiastic customer of Macphun later rebranded as Skylum and I continue to use some of their earlier tools (Luminar 4 and Intensify Pro) as Photoshop plug-ins.  With Luminar AI, a number of changes were made that are incompatible with my workflow preferences.  Like Kevin Raber, I do all my RAW processing in Capture One and export to Photoshop CC for finishing.  My use of all Skylum tools is as PS plug-ins and support for layers and masks is essential to the way I work.  I do not find Luminar AI adds anything I want or need as I think about my creative approach to telling a story through photography.  Perhaps I am more old-school than I realized.  My current workflow makes sense to me and I feel I have more complete creative control over the final results.

I can see the attraction Luminar AI might have for people who do not have a strong preference for an editing style or people more interested in quick improvements in the “look” of their image.  I have often recommended earlier versions of Skylum products to people interested in photography.

Thank you Paul Rubner for writing this article.  The visual elements help to convey much of the emotional possibilities in photography and nicely complement your narrative.

On the road less traveled....

Rand Scott Adams
    Rand Scott Adams