Printing Cost

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Topic: Printing Cost Read 1308 Times
  • Robert Azzi
    Robert Azzi
    Participant
    Epson Printers
    on: November 1, 2019 at 6:06 pm

I am doing a presentation at our local camera club on printing at home and want to provide the members some range of cost for the print, excluding the initial cost of the printer.  I am not an expert, but know enough to help those that haven’t tried printing.   I have created a table of an assortment of Epson, Hahnemuhle, Red River and Canon papers, so that is easy to give a cost per sheet.  I also will show the cost per cartridge, and number of cartridges for the Epson and Canon printers (13″ and 17″).  I am not going to cover the higher capacity Epson 17″ or any of the wider format printers.  I wanted to know if any one has data for a range or rate for ink consumption of any of these printer.  There are dozens of variables, but i thought if there were any studies that have been done, I can use that information to create a broad range of costs for photo and matte ink usage and work that into my deck.  I found one sample on the Red River Paper site which was pretty interesting and a starting point.  I will continue my search, but thought i would post this to seek ideas on how to research or discuss this topic.   I don’t track my costs since i don’t sell my prints.  I would probably be depressed at how much i spent to get the dozen prints i like after shredding the 100 i didn’t like…..

Mark D Segal
    Mark D Segal
    Silver Member
    Re: Printing Cost
    Reply #1 on: November 1, 2019 at 8:28 pm

I sell few prints, but when I do sell them the price doesn’t depend on the cost of producing them. It’s market-driven. Nonetheless I did develop a thorough, systematic accounting framework for tracking how much my printing costs me. It is an Excel-based accounting model which I built that takes into account the following items: