My Journey From Phase One To Fujifilm GFX 100

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Topic: My Journey From Phase One To Fujifilm GFX 100 Read 1574 Times
  • Ysengrain Wolf
    Ysengrain Wolf
    Participant
    New Article Announcements & Discussions
    on: February 1, 2020 at 4:10 am

Hi,

For more than 40 years, I have been staying regularly in the region of Saint Guilhem le Désert.

The picture of the village, however beautiful it may be, is absolutely false in color.

I know ,better than well, the place where it was taken.

NEVER the sky, NEVER the ambient light were the ones shown here.

I am willing to be broad-minded, but I refuse to let the image of a region I love be distorted.

Will Lee
    Will Lee
    Participant
    Re: My Journey From Phase One To Fujifilm GFX 100
    Reply #1 on: February 1, 2020 at 9:22 am

David,

Really good article, I enjoyed it very much.  I owned a Phase One IQ180 for several years. As a landscape photographer, I loved some aspects of it (the resolution and the color quality), I found other aspects burdensome (not weather-proof, weight, bulky/unwieldy, generally needed slow shutter speeds, and sometimes I couldn’t get the color right). I finally sold it at a huge financial loss due to depreciation and am now using full frame.  I’ve wondered if I would ever go back to medium format… I miss the quality but not the other negative aspects. Sounds like the Fuji might be a great solution.  So again, thank you for sharing your journey.

Will

David Meaux
    David Meaux
    Silver Member
    Reply #2 on: February 1, 2020 at 2:50 pm

Hi Ysengrain Wolf,