M1-iMacs – what’s next for us?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Topic: M1-iMacs – what’s next for us? Read 17262 Times
  • Heiko Hamann
    Heiko Hamann
    Participant
    Computers & Displays
    on: April 22, 2021 at 3:31 am

Hello all,

Since the presentation of the new iMacs, I’ve been wondering what to do…

My initial situation is this: I have an iMac 27″, end of 2013, i7 and with the maximum possible 32GB RAM. Three years ago, I gave it another good boost with a 4TB SSD. But in the meantime it’s just too old and slow (the display is no longer perfect either).  I have to say that I only do photography (and Lightroom) as a hobby.

I’ve been wanting to buy a replacement for a while now, but the 2020 iMac put me off with its T2 chip and soldered SSDs. And then, of course, came the vision of a super fast ARM iMac.

But the models presented are unsuitable for photographers in my opinion: only 24″ and a maximum of 16GB RAM are not enough. OK, I’m not a professional photographer and I also use the computer for other work, but the current M1-iMac is only perfect for office and home applications, I think. Apparently it needs an M2 or whatever ARM processor to address more memory. And of course a bigger screen.

So what to do? Now I’ve been thinking of buying an M1 MacMini with a good LG or EIZO display as a temporary solution.But then I noticed another problem with the new Apple models: everything is soldered and if I configure a MacMini with 16GB and 2TB SSD, it costs almost 2,000 EUR (in USD probably the same with taxes).  With Apple, I pay four times the market price for RAM and SSD. I mean 230 euros for 8GB of memory – that’s ridiculous!