Copy & Paste Text into posts??

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Topic: Copy & Paste Text into posts?? Read 430 Times
  • Christopher Sanderson
    Christopher Sanderson
    Keymaster
    Posts: 184
    About This Site
    on: November 19, 2020 at 4:56 pm

    This thread illustrates the issues with copying & pasting text from outside sources (Word Processor, browser etc.)

    I have pasted text from the same clipboard into this post and then into the subsequent three replies getting quite different results.

    Please paste text using the Text field.

    Do not use the Visual field (see attachment below)

    This is a test of pasting html formatting within the Visual and Text tabs of a new post or topic.  (line pasted within Visual tab **with Admin privileges**)

    Attachments:
    Christopher Sanderson
    Christopher Sanderson
    Keymaster
    Posts: 184
    Re: Copy & Paste Text into posts??
    Reply #1 on: November 19, 2020 at 4:58 pm

    This is a test of html formatting within the Visual and Text tabs of a new post or topic (same pre-formatted text pasted within the Text tab)

    Here the html tags have been automatically stripped out by the forum software.

    General User
    General User
    Participant
    Posts: 5
    Re: Copy & Paste Text into posts??
    Reply #2 on: November 19, 2020 at 5:07 pm

    <p style=”margin: 0px; font-stretch: normal; font-size: 11px; line-height: normal; font-family: ‘Helvetica Neue’; color: #000000;”>This is a test of html formatting within the <span style=”font-family: HelveticaNeue-BoldItalic; font-weight: bold; font-style: italic;”>Visual</span> and <span style=”font-family: HelveticaNeue-BoldItalic; font-weight: bold; font-style: italic;”>Text</span> tabs of a new post or topic (same text pasted into Visual tab as general user with no Admin privileges)</p>

    oh dear!

    This is what happens when pre-formatted text from a word processor is pasted into the Visual field.

    General User
    General User
    Participant
    Posts: 5
    Re: Copy & Paste Text into posts??
    Reply #3 on: November 19, 2020 at 5:10 pm

    This is a test of html formatting within the Visual and Text tabs of a new post or topic (pasted into Text tab)

    Here once again, the html tags have been automatically stripped out by the forum software since the pre-formatted text was properly pasted into the Text field

    Christopher Sanderson
    Christopher Sanderson
    Keymaster
    Posts: 184
    Re: Copy & Paste Text into posts??
    Reply #4 on: November 19, 2020 at 6:51 pm

    For all users other than Admin, paste pre-formatted text into the Text field only. If the text is pasted into the Visual field, the html will be exposed as in Reply #2 above

    Pre-styled text is not allowed for most users. This consistency of formatting keeps the forum much more easily read. This is illustrated by the last sentence of the original post where the text is too small to be easily read.

    If required, basic text styling can be created using the simple formatting tools as shown in the Visual fields’s toolbar

    Christopher Sanderson
    Christopher Sanderson
    Keymaster
    Posts: 184
    Re: Copy & Paste Text into posts??
    Reply #5 on: November 21, 2020 at 6:50 pm

    I should add that it is always best to check your post once you have hit the Submit button. Occasionally some html is ‘hidden’ by non-standard characters (like the square bracket) and will need to be removed manually

    You can always go back in within a few minutes of posting to edit.

    Christopher Sanderson
    Christopher Sanderson
    Keymaster
    Posts: 184
    Re: Copy & Paste Text into posts??
    Reply #6 on: November 23, 2020 at 1:14 pm

    Should you have questions about this issue and/or are still experiencing problems with Copy & Paste of text in this forum, please leave a post here.

    Chris S

    Christopher Sanderson
    Christopher Sanderson
    Keymaster
    Posts: 184
    Re: Copy & Paste Text into posts??
    Reply #7 on: December 23, 2020 at 11:10 am

    When quoting a previous post, use the ‘Quote’ function shown at the foot of that post. This creates a hyperlink to the complete post in your reply.
    Should the quote be too long or you wish to quote only a part of that previous post, you will need to copy and paste the text. This is where the built-in formatting tags can be exposed and you may need to go into that pasted text and clean out the html tags. It is often easier to switch between the Visual and Text tabs to expose those tags.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.